Showing posts with label Opinion. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Opinion. Show all posts

Friday, 4 July 2014

Zuma: Africa we want is in our hands

HEADS of State and Government of the African Union met in Malabo, Equatorial Guinea recently to reinforce their commitment to move Africa towards integration and prosperity by transforming agriculture. Meeting on the theme: “Transforming Africa’s agriculture for shared prosperity and improved livelihoods through harnessing opportunities for inclusive growth and sustainable development,” this summit is significant, as it is being held in 2014, the AU declared Year of Agriculture and Food and Nutrition Security. During the Summit, African leaders are expected to recommit to the principles and values of the Comprehensive Africa Agriculture Development Programme (CAADP) to sustain the growth momentum and fundamentally transform agricultural and rural economies by unleashing the potential of inclusive agro-industries and agribusiness development, among others. Africa’s leaders are requested to commit to bold new targets to be achieved by the year 2025. These will include eliminating hunger and improving nutrition; doubling agricultural productivity, reducing poverty by half through agriculture, creating job opportunities for Africa’s youth and women through inclusive value-chain development, and improving resilience of households. It will also include practical steps to empower Africa’s mainly female agricultural workforce, through access to land, extension services, markets and infrastructure. But even though their collective pledge is important, it is now more imperative than ever to act bolder and faster. Ten years after CAADP’s adoption, and despite strong economic growth in Africa for more than a decade, the agricultural annual growth in most countries is still below their six per cent target. Accelerated growth is essential if African citizens at all levels are to achieve the AU’s aspiration of prosperity. Investments in agriculture will ensure much more than feeding two billion Africans by 2050, a crucial goal in its own right. It will also provide employment and generate economic growth – jobs and income – for Africa’s citizens. Appropriate public spending will also accelerate investment by the private sector. It is intended to significantly and sustainably improve nutrition on the continent by 2025. The critical importance of agriculture for economic growth, the eradication of poverty and achieving food and nutrition security is uncontested. It accounts for over one-third of the continent’s Gross Domestic Product (GDP) and export earnings, and employs over 60 percent of the population. It is still the single most important productive sector in most low-income countries, both due to its share of GDP and the number of people it employs. It also has the potential to be the continent’s solution to long-term social and economic development concerns of youth unemployment, gender inequality and climate change adaptation, major issues facing every African country. Unfortunately, youth participation in this sector is actually declining, despite the fact that they account for 60% of all Africans unemployed – a staggeringly high rate. By 2025, it is estimated that 330 million young Africans will have entered the labour market, and will be looking for jobs. This bulging population of increasingly educated youth, including young women, is eager to engage in innovative and gainful entrepreneurship and employment. The onus is on all African leaders and stakeholders to show them modernised agriculture is an attractive and gainful career choice, one through which both they and their communities will benefit. Africa can and must be transformed from a continent reliant upon food imports to one that can feed itself and export a surplus to help feed a growing world population. This means new investments across the entire value chain – from the smallholder farm to agro-processing facilities, and from railways, transport systems and storage to finance, trade and market infrastructure. All African citizens have a duty to work to determine our future, and with governments leading the way by creating conditions for agriculture to thrive. It is time to put agriculture at the top of our national development agendas by stepping up and spending up to ensure a rapid, steady path to development for their people. We must all be accountable for commitments we make. We must all believe and embrace the fact that it’s in our hands. • Dr. Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma is the Chairperson of the African Union Commission.(Guardian)

Friday, 27 June 2014

Torti: The jihadist threat to Abia State

THE recent arrest of over 486 suspected Boko Haram insurgents, travelling in a convoy of 35 vehicles, in the wee hours of the night, by vigilant soldiers of the Nigerian Army, 144 Battalion, Asa, Abia has evoked laughable sabre rattling from some law makers and spokespersons of the far North. First information report, according to the base commander Lieutenant Rasheed Omolori indicated that, soldiers on their routine patrol at Aro Ngwa and Imo gate along Enugu-Port Harcourt expressway intercepted the flotilla of Hummer buses, with male occupants, within the age bracket of 16-24. Two of these buses escaped to some unknown destination. It is instructive to note the statement released by Major General Chris Olukolade of Defence Headquarters that a terror kingpin on the wanted list of felons was detected amongst these suspects. As we speak, the remaining detainees are undergoing interrogation and screening processing. In all the saga, neither was the Abia State Chief Executive, Dr. T.A. Orji (Ochendo Global) nor his officials, agents or privies tangentially or directly involved in any of the processes of interdiction, processing or screening. Rather it was strictly a military affair. But all these were conveniently brushed aside by some reprobate lawmakers from Jigawa House of Assembly who took umbrage with threats vowing to drag Abia State government to court. A Jigawa State delegate at the on-going National Conference threw caution to the wind when he alleged that those arrested were itinerant ‘traders’ criminalised on account of their religion and ethnic origin. Recall that a week before the incident, a Boko Haram foot soldier was shot by security operatives at the Lokpanta cattle market, while trying to commit some heinous crime. He was reportedly treated at the Federal Medical Centre, Umuahia. As an aside, just as the Boko Haram suspects were being arrested at Abia, their counterparts in neighbouring Owerri, Imo State, had planted improvised explosive devices at Winners Chapel, World Bank area, primed to pulverize any object within a 10-metre radius. Again it took the quick intervention of security operatives to avert what could have been a near holocaust. It is noteworthy to mention that a few days before these three incidents that happened in quick succession, Governor Kashim Shettima of Borno, under whose watch the Chibok schoolgirls were abducted, had issued a suspicious warning that was interpreted to be a coded message by those familiar with the cloak and dagger lingo. He had predicted that members of the Boko Haram sect will seek to extend their activities to other parts of the country. This speech was delivered at a two-day conference on security and human rights, organised by the Centre for Historical Documentation and Research, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria. Does the Borno leader know much more than he is telling us. Still under his watch, Kabiru Sokoto, a senior Boko Haram Commander was apprehended by operatives of the State Security Service in the Borno State Governor’s Lodge in Abuja after escaping from the custody of police. In deconstructing the motives of the legislators who raised dust against Governor Orji, one fact stands out. They wish Abians nay southerners, to cower under inane threats, lose concentration and drop their guards to provide a killing field for the Boko Haram. Recall that President Goodluck Jonathan said that criminals who are disguising as herdsmen have continued to wage war against Nigeria; while curtailing Boko Haram’s insurgency is overstretching security agencies and the economy. The upshot of all these is that the security template put in place by Dr. T.A. Orji, at the height of the kidnapping/abduction episode is a panacea to get rid of the menace of insurgency. On account of this, Abia has been adjudged the safest state in the federation – a fact attested to by the many accolades which the governor has garnered within the last three years, like the Daily Independent Man of the Year 2012, and Best Governor of the Year on Security Matters by the Ghana Security Watch. It is axiomatic that the price of liberty is eternal vigilance, because the jihadists are sullied with a cultural mindset of blood letting. Even though a huge chunk of these potential terrorists were arrested, there is no knowing how many that are already slipped in. Abians nay the entire southern flank must adopt the know-your-neighbour security format. Trailers and other heavy articulated vehicles conveying foodstuff, from the North including empty fuel tankers must be banned from nocturnal movements. Their commodities like yam, watermelon, tomato must be stripped, searched before being discharged at designated bays. Those illegal immigrants, suspected to be from the Maghreb region now strutting all over the state, should be persuaded to move on else where. The security agencies have been doing very well and deserve our commendation and support with timely intelligence. Boko Haram is a product of ignorance and therefore it is the duty of all responsible members of the society that spawned the malaise to combat it, rather than pursuing diversionary tactics like threatening to sue the Abia State Governor. Boko Haram is the poisoned chalice of the northern political elite and they must face the reality and encourage a more self-critical approach. West phobic ideas like ‘education is a sin’ should be challenged by the Muslim Umah. Do they realise that the first educational institution in the world was the University of Timbuktu, Mali. The University was organised around three great Masajids or Mosques. The Masajid of Jingaray Ber, The Masajid of Sidi Yahya, The Masajid of Sankore. Masajids are places of worship for Muslims. Are they aware that Malaysia, Singapore, United Arab Republic, Turkey that have migrated to first world economic status are predominantly Muslims? People must begin to challenge barmy ideas, and generate creative, informed and inclusive discussions to counter the ideological underpinnings of terrorism, whilst simultaneously providing evidence-based recommendations to governments for related policymeasures. Not too long ago, there was this false alarm from a sitting state governor who espoused the theory that Boko Haram was a conspiracy by the GEJ administration to ‘depopulate the North.’ Haba! A paradigm shift is needed and the time is now. • Torti is a management consultant and public policy analyst.

Tuesday, 3 June 2014

Nigeria: We are making the rich richer, the poor to subsidise the rich – Diete Spiff

ABUJA- DELEGATES at the on- going National Conference were sharply divided over the total removal of subsidy on Petroleum Products as recommended by the Senator Adamu Aliero led Committee on Public Finance and Revenue.

Friday, 21 March 2014

APC and the roadmap to nowhere

Buhari, APC Chieftain

















For those who have followed the politics of Jonathan bashing and anti-PDP propaganda by the APC leadership, the result of the self-commissioned public opinion survey on the approval rating of President Goodluck Jonathan does not leave anything to guess.  Add the fact that the purported survey is part of the process of unveiling the party’s manifesto, which it calls “Roadmap to a New Nigeria”, the picture of an unreliable opinion poll is complete.

It seems that APC is now replying critics who have taunted them with the fact that nobody really knows what the party believes in or stands for other than criticising everything under the sun with the imprimatur of President Jonathan.  For the most part, what the party does is to wait for Jonathan to drink water and then issue a statement that it was inappropriate for the Nigerian President to take fluid by that time of the day.
That is how infantile the APC has become in its role as the opposition party.  It was therefore reassuring to hear from the leadership of APC that the party was ready with its agenda document or manifesto.  At least, this would help citizens in making up their minds between the ruling Peoples Democratic Party, PDP and the APC.

It is rather unfortunate that APC has characteristically destroyed the roadmap before its unveiling by muddling it up with a questionable opinion poll with predetermined conclusions.  Why is APC making the mistake of thinking that the only way to market its manifesto is by wrapping it in the dirty shroud of an opinion poll, which only those who do not live in this country can see as objective?

Since the APC emerged as a political party with the loss of the identity of its parent political parties like Action Congress of Nigeria, ACN, the Congress for Progressive Change, CPC and the All Nigerian Peoples Party, ANPP, the new party has been in a frantic search of its own identity and soul different from that of the strange bedfellows that fused rather inchoately to upset the ruling PDP.

The desperate strategy of membership drive adopted by APC defined by the poaching of discredited PDP members of yesterday now adorned in APC’s saintly, if hypocritical robes, has caught the attention of the Nigerian public.  And questions upon questions are now being raised over the identity and the ideological trajectory of the new party with all its messianic claims and pretensions.

Yes, the antics of the Tinubus of this world need no further introduction and so is Buhari’s high-handedness, rigidity, self-righteousness and even a tinge of ethnocentrism.  But what was not fathomable to the people was the emerging trend that the holier-than-thou APC would fall back on those they categorically labelled as “a murderous gang” yesterday, as the spine of the party.

Today, Atiku Abubakar is a progressive and so is Governor Rotimi Amaechi. Another Governor whom even journalists covering the PDP saw loading electoral materials into a vehicle with the Chairman of his state’s gubernatorial primaries committee the morning before the PDP election that handed him the party ticket is now a progressive advocating for free and fair election in 2015!  In fact, if General Abacha wakes up from the grave today and joins the APC, he would be shown off as a progressive politician.  Such is the identity crisis of the main opposition party, APC.

It is this self-inflicted identity crisis that has led the APC unwittingly to compound its problem by engaging the American firm AKPD Message and Media, a public relations shop, to fix its image problem.
This is without the vehement protests from the national body, Public Relations Consultants Association of Nigeria, PRCAN, who insist that the APC move is scandalous and without regards for the competency of the Nigeria professionals.  Yet, this is the same APC that is claiming that Jonathan has done nothing in the area of job creation!

The Chido Nwakamma group raised a more fundamental issue away from trade union concerns, which is the unique nature of local nuances that seem to affect political behaviour here and yet very difficult for any foreign pollster to comprehend.  In a simple language, it is not enough for the APC to quote us the “Obama example” or other incredible feats of its consultants in helping democratic movements elsewhere.  The question remains, what is the experience of AKPD in a multi-ethnic and largely illiterate country like Nigeria?
The lack of understanding of the political climate and the character of the population, which the APC consultants “researched” on, more than invalidates the outcome of the survey.  And there are, indeed, other methodological issues which, when put together, tend to suggest that the Presidency is apt in describing the APC opinion polling as an exercise in quackery.

First, which population was being studied?  Is it the educated alone or urban resident?  What kind of sampling method was adopted?  How representative of the population were the samples?  How sure are we that respondents understood the questions put to them?

Some of the purported outcomes of the inquiry can only validate the methodological flaws in the APC polling, and nothing more.  How can a social researcher claim that Nigerians prefer to vote for APC candidate against Jonathan when APC has no candidate?  Does it also imply that even if APC fields a dog against Jonathan, Nigerians will vote the dog?  This is another APC sleight of the hand.  When APC and its consultants set about collecting data to suit a predetermined answer, which in academics is roguery anyway, they forgot that voting behaviour is not only determined by partisan identification.

Other factors that influence vote choice in the literature include issues, personality and ethnicity.  To pretend that these factors are not important in a highly divided society like ours by a “public opinion consultant” and a political party angling for power is the height of deceit.  Moreover, even in terms of partisan identification, PDP is far ahead of the APC and any polling that seems to suggest otherwise is patently unreliable.

For some weeks now, APC has been staking its claim of popularity against the PDP to its own detriment.   They tried it in the House of Representatives and were out-numbered by the PDP.   They tried it in the Senate and the ruling party left it with a black eye.  The latest attempt at exaggerating its popular acceptability by hiring a largely public relations company and mistaking it for a research organisation only confirms that the party is embarking on a journey to nowhere. Or perhaps they are headed for the Red Sea as Dr Doyin Okupe had earlier predicted.
JOHN AINOFENOKHAI a public analyst, wrote from Lagos.
(VANGUARD)

Saturday, 8 March 2014

Centenary awards how it all went down

This one wonderful piece of write up, I think will be selfish not to share with my Loyal readers, it tells the shame and senselessness Nigerian leaders have come to associate with Award, it reflects the common tale of "strange folks" brought together by our colonial master, the Britain, to form what is now known as Nigeria "the sleeping Giant of Africa, Written By Chioma Gabriel of Vanguard Newspaper is a piece filled with poetry, but yet addresses the major issues affecting our society, and our country Nigeria at large. This piece leaves me wondering if our political leaders are too much of morons and thieves to see things from a wise mans perspective and kill this political game that is killing our Country, Nigeria.

I wonder why they are so blind by power and quest for money, that they fallow in corruption and stealing at the detriment of the common man on the street, who is surviving, rather than leaving!
God bless Nigeria, happy reading

The centenary celebration brought back memories I cherished so much. My literature teacher in secondary school had a penchant for asking me to paraphrase poetry and I always obeyed. I was the comedian in his class, discussing serious issues jokingly. There were aspects of poetry I loved and Nigeria’s centenary brought back good old memories.

If you had not read Chinua Achebe’sThings Fall Apart, you would not imagine what amalgamation, the scramble and partition for Africa did to Nigeria’s value system.

So at that moment when President Jonathan was honouring Queen Elizabeth, Frederick John Dealtry Lugard and Dame Flora Louise Shaw, I was reminiscing about Chinua Achebe’sThings Fall Apartand imagining how the white man invaded and violated the values of Africans and in this case, a fictitious village in Eastern Nigeria.

The centenary celebration brought back memories of Africa’s spiritual history – the civilized and rich lives the people lived before the arrival of Europeans and the ruinous social and cultural consequences that the arrival of European missionaries brought. Achebe captured same in Things Fall Apart which was a sharp criticism of imperialism, or the European colonization of countries outside of the European continent .


Obviously, Achebe had great dislike for the violation of his people by the white man. In his bid to rubbish them as they rubbished us, he wrote:
Kotuma of the ash buttocks
He is supposed to be a slave
The white man has no sense
He is supposed to be a slave

Perhaps Achebe would have mourned when centenary awards were given to Queen Elizabeth of England, Lord Lugard and Flora Shaw who all connived to bring together strange bed-fellows and called them Nigeria. We are victims of white scavengers and British colonial adventurers and empire builders. Nigeria is the markets for raw materials required by Britain to exert political influence overseas.

We are a people who lost it and who Dei Anang mourned in his poetry, ‘I know a world’.
I know a world,
A wondrous world,
Sweet home of haunting songs
And rolling drums,
‘Tis Africa.
I know a world,
A trampled world,
Partitioned and pawned
In centuries of greed
And still undone,
‘Tis Africa

At the time President Jonathan was giving out awards to the befitting and the non-befitting and many were clapping for Queen Elizabeth II of England and foreigners who were specially honoured as part of the activities to commemorate Nigeria’s Centenary celebration, I wondered if he thought about Nigeria being trampled, partitioned and pawned.

I would not talk about some inconsequential people who got the awards. He who keeps his tongue keeps his soul from trouble. But I wondered if Nigeria would ever wake up from her age -long slumber or whether she would remain a sleeping beauty.

In a fleeting second, I wondered how the ethnic groups that make up Nigeria would have been without being colonised by the white man.

One of my grand uncles died at the age of 135 years. I never knew I had such an uncle until I started an assignment on a borrowed course at the university and I needed to interview a centenarian. Then I met him. He was strong and agile then at 120 years, when I went to ask him vital questions about my town. He was wearing khaki shorts like Tai Solarin’s and always came out every morning to enjoy the morning sun. He would relax in his lounge chair and smoke his pipe .

Afterward, he would ride his bicycle to the village square, the only place they sold newspapers to buy and then, return to relax and read. He never used glasses. Fifteen years on, Uncle Azodo lived an active life and died while the ovation was still high. He never wore trousers. Only khaki-brown shorts. And he never wore glasses or used a magnifier. He read newspapers with his natural eyes on the very day he died.


Uncle Azodo deserved a post-humous centenary award more than anybody else. He had become a man even before the British colonised us and he had the privilge of working with the early invaders. While he lived, he drank only palm wine. He never tasted beer. He ate only freshly prepared traditional food. His soup must be fresh and he ate every freshly prepared food just once. I wondered if it had anything to do with his longevity.

And coming back to Nigeria, I wondered how we would have looked were we not colonised by foreigners. Perhaps, we would have looked like the Koma people in Adamawa State, the place of a unique set of people who see life differently.

The enclave of a people discovered but never delivered and is left swinging like pendulum, between the region of modernity and tradition. Nobody would have weaned us of our primitive ways .

We would still be floundering in the ‘Dark Age’ strutting around naked or near-naked in broad daylight; going to farms or markets in a state of semi-nudity.

Our timidity would also curb greed and the urge to get rich quick. There would be no corruption, no oil, President, governor or national assembly. There would perhaps be no political parties. There would also be no ethnicity or religious jingoism.

There would be no Central Bank and no CBN governor. And there would be no centenary awards! And the undeserving wouldn’t have received while the deserving were left out !

In Britain, some of the people who received Jonathan’s centenary awards wouldn’t have been mentioned. Membership of the British Empire, MBE, is perceived as the humblest of honours unlike in Nigeria where our Awards have become something that people lobby for and use for settlements of political associates, cronies, and sycophants. Morons, thieves, ‘monkeys’ and ‘baboons’ could get the highest awards in the land!

Depth of character unswayed by material attraction and superficial rewards get the least consideration in many cases. Persons of low pedigree, political jobbers,rotten eggsand crooks could get nominated for what ought to be a mark of distinction. Only few Nigerians have been able to say no when everything and everyone else seemed carried away by being honoured.

Only the visionary, the courageous and patriots in the mold of Wole Soyinka had the boldness to reject what appeared to be going to every Tom, Dick and Harry.

Many would have given their right legs to have such awards bestowed on them but real men would stand to be counted when it matters most by saying no to self-aggrandizement; preferring instead that the society where many are suffering be given a facelift.

Every nation has a system of recognising and rewarding the outstanding feats and achievements of its citizens. Such recognition and reward place on record public appreciation for the contributions of those citizens who have distinguished themselves in their services to the nation. These are also instruments for motivating the wider citizenry to strive to greater heights and to contribute more actively towards promoting the nation’s intellectual, creative and societal value systems.

But awards have been given to some people that did not deserve them while many who did were left out. Such undeserving people have not made any significant contributions to national development to warrant being given any recognition at all, let alone the nation’s treasured centenary awards. When such incompetent personages bag the prestigious awards, the meaning is devalued. But that’s the Nigerian factor for you!

It was expected that the tardiness and cheapness that characterised past honours would have been avoided and that only deserving achievers would be recognised.


The centenary awards should have been reserved for Nigerians both in low and high places who have made uncommon contributions to national development in the past 100 years. I salute the Nigerian ‘ingenuity.’(VANGUARD)

Tuesday, 4 March 2014

reactions on facebook over Pastor Chris Oyakhilome’s response on abortion


It’s trending like hot chocolate on facebook with the comments after the post on several blogs swinging in and out of his favour for his answer on if a woman should abort a child conceived after being raped.

















It’s a controversial issue that has been debated all over the world. The catholic church for example condems the act of aborting a child for any reason. Do you agree with Pastor Chris on this one?

Sunday, 17 November 2013

David Did Not Kill Goliath (2)

Christians are confronted with the following contradictions about David in the bible. David is “a young boy, untrained for war:” David is a “skilled warrior.” David is living at home: David is living with Saul. David enters Saul’s service as a harp player: David enters Saul’s service as a Goliath-fighting warrior. Saul knows David and his father: Saul does not know David and his father. Nevertheless, these turn out to be minor contradictions. There are more major ones in the bible that effectively lead to the conclusion that the whole story of David killing Goliath is fabricated. Choice of David The terms of the combat between the Israelites and the Philistines were ostensibly laid down by Goliath. Instead of having the two armies battle it out, he said: “Choose a man for yourselves, and let him come down to me. If he is able to fight with me and kill me, then we will be your servants. But if I prevail against him and kill him, then you shall be our servants and serve us.” (1 Samuel 17:8-9). When David offers to meet this challenge, Saul is said to have told him: “You are not able to go against this Philistine to fight with him; for you are a youth, and he a man of war from his youth.” (1 Samuel 17:33). It therefore beggars belief that Saul would then agree to put the fate of the whole nation of Israel on the shoulders of inexperienced young David. While fully acknowledging that there is nothing God cannot do, it is not credible that Saul would agree that Israel should be represented by David’s incompetence, after all no directive about this came from God. The idea that Saul may have been persuaded by David’s tale of having killed a lion with his bare hands just won’t cut it. Such tall tales are not believed without proof. Even more ludicrous is Saul’s agreement that little David should fight mighty Goliath without armour and with nothing but a catapult. Rather than provoke a revolt by his regular soldiers, Saul would have selected one of his trained and experienced military officers to do the job. Two different killings And then there is the problem of the actual killing of Goliath. Did David kill Goliath with a catapult or did he kill him with a sword? The bible is double-minded, recording two contradictory oral traditions side-by-side. As a result, David killed Goliath twice. The first time, he killed him with a catapult: “So David prevailed over the Philistine with a sling and a stone, and struck the Philistine and KILLED HIM. But there was no sword in the hand of David.” (1 Samuel 17:50-51). The second time, David killed him with a sword: “Therefore David ran and stood over the Philistine, took his sword and drew it out of its sheath and KILLED HIM, and cut off his head with it. (1 Samuel 17:51). We are then told what David did with Goliath’s head: “David took the head of the Philistine and brought it to Jerusalem, but he put his armor in his tent. (1 Samuel 17:54). This is nothing but pure fiction. David could not have taken Goliath’s head to Jerusalem at this time because the Israelites had not yet captured Jerusalem from the Jebusites. According to 2 Samuel, Jerusalem was not captured from the Jebusites until after David became King: “The time came when King David and his men set out to attack Jerusalem. The Jebusites, who lived there, thought that David would not be able to conquer the city, and so they said to him, ‘You will never get in here; even the blind and the crippled could keep you out.’ (But David did capture their fortress of Zion, and it became known as ‘David’s City.’)” (2 Samuel 5:6-7). This suggests then that, in the original story, David was already king when Goliath was killed. Indeed, in the version crediting Elhanan with killing Goliath, David is already king and Elhanan is a member of his elite fighting squad. (2 Samuel 21:19). More anomalies The confusion in the bible account is compounded by the fact that while we are told in 1 Samuel 17:54 that after killing Goliath, David carried his head to Jerusalem; three verses later we are told he carried it elsewhere: “Then, as David returned from the slaughter of the Philistine, Abner took him and brought him before Saul with the head of the Philistine in his hand.” (1 Samuel 17:57). David was then made a General in the Israeli army, and we are told this promotion of a young upstart over older more-experienced soldiers pleased everyone including Saul’s officials. (1 Samuel 18:5). This is nothing short of political propaganda. City of refuge But the clincher is as follows. After ostensibly killing Goliath, David became so popular that Saul soon saw him as a threat to his throne. He was determined to kill him and David had to run for his life. Of all the places that David could find to seek refuge, he ended up in Philistine territory: “That day David fled from Saul and went to Achish king of GATH.” (1 Samuel 21:10). This is absolutely incredible. How could the arch-enemy of the Philistines seek refuge in Philistine territory? Of all the cities that David could choose for safety, he chose Gath, the very hometown of Goliath: “So David dwelt with Achish at GATH, he and his men, each man with his household.” (1 Samuel 27:3). This is conclusive proof that David did not kill Goliath. If he did, the last place he would seek refuge would be in Goliath’s hometown. That is a sure way to get him killed. But according to the bible record, David not only lived for years among the Gittites, the people of Gath, he was even prepared to go to war on their side against Israel. However, the Philistine commanders objected on the grounds that he could not be trusted: “He must not go with us into battle, or he will turn against us during the fighting. How better could he regain his master’s favor than by taking the heads of our own men? Isn’t this the David they sang about in their dances: ‘Saul has slain his thousands, and David his tens of thousands’?” (1 Samuel 29:4-5). This is another giveaway. It shows that whatever tens of thousands David killed; they could not have been Philistines and certainly could not have included Goliath the Gittite. As a matter of fact, when David became king, his bodyguards were 600 Philistines headed by Ittai the Gittite. (2 Samuel 15:18-22). If after all this you still think David killed Goliath the Gittite, then you are entitled to your gullibility. Let me try and draw some more plausible conclusions than the classical David killed Goliath fable. David was a soldier in Saul’s army. He performed such great exploits that the people sang about him killing tens of thousands to Saul’s thousands. Saul felt threatened by David and decided to kill him. David sought refuge in Philistine territory. After David became king, Elhanan killed the Philistine champion called Goliath. His head was then brought to Jerusalem. (Continued). CULLED FROM VANGUARD

Tuesday, 17 September 2013

Poor people are not wanted in Lagos-WARNING

By Femi Aribisala
HIP, hip, hip; Hooray!
Lagos is now going to be a megacity. Under the able leadership of Governor Babatunde Fashola, the apostle of good governance, Lagos is undergoing a major makeover. The Atlantic Ocean will be banished, to be replaced by Eko Atlantic; a shimmering new 3.5- mile island built literally on the water behind a “great wall of Lagos.” Greenery has suddenly appeared in Lagos, displacing the concrete jungle. There are now parks with manicured lawns. There are now tree-lined roads. Pot-holes are now being tarred. Sidewalks are now provided for pedestrians.
*Eko o ni baje In the middle of this transformation, a new immigration department has been opened in Lagos. “Illegal aliens” are being expelled and are shipped back to their homelands in the dead of night. New visitors may have to obtain visas to come here. All this makes it imperative to determine who exactly is the Lagosian? Who is entitled to enjoy the new amenities that Governor Fashola and his team of dedicated public-servants are bringing to Lagos? Accordingly, a battle royal has emerged for the rightful ownership of Lagos. Some are insisting Lagos is no man’s land. Others are discovering Lagos as their fatherland. But there is no question that the government has already determined the precise identity of the true Lagosian. As far as the Lagos State Government is concerned, the true Lagosian is not the Yoruba man or the Igbo man. Neither is he the Hausa man or the Fulani man. The true Lagosian is the rich man. The poor have been served quit notice. They are no longer wanted in Lagos. Fashola’s resounding slogan is “Eko o ni baje,” which means Lagos will not go to the dogs. The poor are considered the dogs of Lagos. In that troublesome capacity, they can have no place in Lagos, if Lagos is to become the megacity of Governor Fashola’s lofty dreams!
*Action Governor: For some strange reason, Lagos has tended to have better Governors than most states of the federation. But if you were to ask me who is the best among all the Governors of Lagos, I would answer you without hesitation. In my opinion, it is Governor Babatunde Fashola. Fashola is a man with a vision. He is a man with a purpose. He is a man clearly able to translate ideas into weapons. He has transformed and is transforming Lagos right before our very eyes. But I have a nagging suspicion that the reason why I am so readily persuaded by Fashola’s virtues might not be unconnected with the fact that I am not a poor man. The poor themselves may have a very different point of view. They are probably likely to insist that the best governor in the history of Lagos is Lateef Kayode Jakande; alias “Baba Kekere.” I am not a poor man by Nigerian standards. Therefore, I do not presume to speak for the poor. But then, increasingly, I am beginning to wonder who exactly speaks for them in Lagos. One thing is certain, Fashola speaks primarily for the rich; and this is not good enough. In the Lagos of today, the poor have no voice. Fashola’s laudable policies are too one-sided. They are tailor-made for the rich: and are grossly disadvantageous to the poor.

*Relocating the poor: I don’t have to be poor to know that the poor are increasingly unwelcome in Lagos. The genius of Fashola is to relocate them to the outskirts of the city. If they are non-indigenes, they are relocated back to their homesteads. The systematic ridding of Lagos of the poor is a longstanding process. The poor were shipped out of Maroko. It has been replaced by Oniru where apartments go for an average of 2.5 million naira a year. Slums in Mushin, Oluwole and Makoko have been demolished. The residents were evicted from their homes, with no talk of rehabilitation. Markets in Tejuoso, Yaba and Oshodi have been demolished and rebuilt. The new stalls are beyond the pocket of the earlier poor occupants. Everywhere in Lagos, the poor are becoming persona non grata. In places like Ojota, Makoko, and Ijora-Badia East, the poor residents have been evicted from their homes. In some cases, they were given only 72 hours notice to leave. In Makoko/Iwaya, the government’s quit notice described them “environmental nuisances” that “undermined the megacity status” of Lagos. It stated that their menial existence was detrimental to the government’s determination to beautify the Lagos waterfront.

*Eko Atlantic: As the poor are being squeezed out, so is more leg-room being created for the rich. The Eko Atlantic project is the epitome of this. It involves dredging 140 million tons of sand from the floor of the Atlantic Ocean to subdue the sea and create nine million square kilometers of prime real estate, protected by an eight metre-high wall, vaunted to last 1000 years. When completed, the project will boast residential areas, offices, shops, and leisure facilities for 250,000 people, with another 150,000 commuting to work. To have a foothold in this brave new world, you will need a cool 300,000 naira for just one square metre of land. However, what Lagos desperately needs is not a “Manhattan island” that will cater primarily for the rich. Massive low cost housing What Lagos needs is massive low-cost housing to accommodate millions of slum-dwellers. The state government itself acknowledges that Lagos has a housing shortage in excess of five million. By its own estimates, it needs an annual growth of at least 200,000 houses to keep up with the population growth. In spite of this, it touts a six billion-dollar white-elephant project that ignores this urgent need of the poor masses in favour of one that caters to the rich few.

*Ban of Okadas: I hate okadas. They are a menace on the streets. Even the sidewalks are not safe from them. Okada riders are a law unto themselves. They obey no traffic rules. They imperil their clients by taking dangerous risks. The mortuaries and hospitals are filled with those who have lost life and limb because of their recklessness. But I will be the first to admit that one of the reasons I am able to hate okadas with so much passion is because I have a car. I don’t have to take okadas and have never ever taken them. Governor Fashola also has a car. So it does not surprise me that, like me, he is also fed up with the menace of okadas in Lagos. Therefore, recently an edict was passed banning them in most areas of Lagos. The government refused to provide alternative means of transportation for those who don’t have cars before banning the okadas. This oversight translates into contempt for the poor. I don’t have to be poor to recognise that it has been disastrous. Since the banning of the okadas, I have repented of my earlier hatred of okadas. No matter that I wind up my tinted windows; the better to enjoy the air-conditioning in my car, I cannot remain oblivious to the mass of humanity in Lagos now constrained to walk for miles or stand for hours at bus-stops, waiting in readiness for the battle ahead when it will become necessary to fight for the few spaces available in the few buses when they finally, finally, arrive. Let’s face it; with the okadas gone, the poor in Lagos don’t get home until midnight and then they have to set out for work by 5 a.m.; and that is if they have a job. I asked a lady in my neighbourhood supermarket how much she makes as a cashier. She told me N20,000 a month. I don’t know how anybody can survive in Fashola’s Lagos with such a salary, especially since over 50 per cent of that goes for transportation alone.

*Paying tolls: The new departure in Fashola’s Lagos is that people now have to pay for driving on tarred roads. If you are one of the poor residents of Ajah, Badore, Elegushi, Ajiran, Sangotedo, Abijo, Ibeju, and other communities in Eti-osa, Epe and Ibeju-Lekki local government areas, you will now have to pay tolls for leaving your house to head for the Lagos mainland and pay again for going back home. On the Lekki expressway, no less than three tolls are envisaged for just a 50- kilometre stretch of road. The Lagos State Government is only interested in exploiting the poor in this area, and there are literally millions living there. There is little or no government infrastructure there. There is no general hospital, and no low-income housing scheme. No sporting or recreational facility. No public transportation system. No public water works: just the payment of tolls. The original idea was to develop a coastal road as an alternative route to the tolled road, but this has not been done. *No petty-trading: So how can the poor make ends meet in Lagos? With okada gone, and excluding outright crime, one option is petty-trading Lagos-style. Street trading This entails turning the streets into one big supermarket, and training for the 2016 Olympics by running after cars in order to sell something as menial as groundnuts. But even here, you are likely to be confronted by the long arm of the law. Street-trading is frowned at in Lagos. The “Kick Against Indiscipline” brigade will seize your goods if they get hold of you. The Arab Spring outburst in Tunisia started because the goods of a poor street-trader, Mohamed Bouaziz, were confiscated by the police. That act brought the man to the end of his rope. He bought a jerry-can of petrol and set himself on fire. Those sympathetic to his plight took to the streets, and the upshot of this was the overthrow of the government. Lagos, Nigeria may not be Sidi Bouzid, Tunisia. Nevertheless, Governor Fashola has a legacy to protect. Rather than this new policy of banishing the poor to Siberia, Fashola should sit down and fashion comprehensive policies that take into consideration their acute suffering in Lagos. If he does not, his disregard of the poor will soon overshadow his remarkable achievements in Lagos State.

Saturday, 7 September 2013

ARE NIGERIANS TIRED OF DWELLING TOGETHER,COULD IT BE TRUE THAT LAGOS GOV DEPORTED SOME IGBOS?

Sorry to those of us who feel too strongly concern about issues of Tribe and tribalism in Nigeria, maybe u guys need to like CNN page and see how people engage in constructive criticism, though sometimes lots of insult like I may soon receive! Always ensued, Yes you will say I said so, FIRST no such thing as deportation in Lagos or Nigeria, The only issue is the way and manner the indigenes where sent back to their state,without due consultation with the administrators of the State they are from, since the Constitution of Nigeria stipulates that Every one is free to live where he or so choose without any form of harassment, and Lagos been lead by a well learned and brilliant Governor like Governor Babatunde Raji Fashola, no such illegality like deportation of Citizens within a Country could have taken place, otherwise Niger's,Togo and Benenuans in Nigeria will all have been Deported Especially Togo People in Lagos! Who sells smoke fish and dwell around the riverine area So! Either Nigerians stop been too Tribal sentiment and get to be constructive in their analysis of Issues, maybe we move a motion for a sovereign National Conference and split this Country for ones, otherwise we are No where near the promise land if we continue with this Divided mentality in Nigeria, for every problem facing the Igbos also affects the Yorubas or Hausa and identifying and finding a lasting solutions to our problems are very vital. And what could this problems be??? Among the many problems are widespread Poverty and lack of basic social amenities......Am not afraid to say what I think in my opinion is right,meanwhile I do respect what anyone has to say, Regarding the recent issues of Lagos governor deporting some Igbos, I think the Igbo's can't afford the hating game, they have so much integrated into Nigeria System that I think Biafra,I just remembered its History*winking*{just for references} Igbos have a big investment in Lagos and many Other parts of the Country, So people should stop giving political under tone to issues, which makes our fake politicians feel they are doing you and I a favor, GOD BLESS NIGERiA Our problem is poverty not tribe, which is the tool our political elite are using to divide Us, when we kill the monster call poverty then do we have a say, as of now I trust no Politicians or man. I say not tribe because have not seen Estate dwellers fight over little issues because of perceived tribalism, that only happen In face me I slap you houses. (Ghetto Houses)let's fight poverty first and then we can know if breaking up as a country is the next thing to do**Just my own opinion,let's stop d Hate Preaching that will only bring bloodshed which no one including you will ever wish for or Stand when it comes.LET'S FIND SOLUTION TO NIGERIA'S PROBLEM AND STOP THE HATE MESSAGE,if its true or not what people are saying about the recent" percieved" deportations or Igbo's from Lagos, am not contesting that,but lets proffer solutions rather than make people feel agitated and turn them against their fellow man.....HATE PREACHING is what makes a sectarian!!

Friday, 6 September 2013

THE SHAME AND DILEMMA OF NIGERIAN DEPORTEES

NIGERIAN DEPORTEES PICTURED
NIGERIAN DEPORTEES (Illustrative purpose only)
BY CLEMENT UDEGBE
NIGERIANS suffer in many countries, to which they ran to for asylum, during the military reign of terror in the mid-1990s. Many are denied asylum and subsequently face deportation. Some of them die in the course of resisting deportations, because they have bedded into the culture and society of the host nation, have nothing to come back to here in their country. Our government and people have no plans, no policies, no arrangements for them.
In March 2010, a 29-year-old Nigerian went on hunger strike in Switzerland to resist deportation. He was stayed with 15 others whose asylum bid failed, and subsequently died at the airport tarmac. Reports say that Nigerians filed 1,303 applications for asylum in Switzerland in 2011, while more than 180 illegal Nigerian immigrants were deported from Switzerland in 2012.
In 2010, America deported 33 Nigerians for various reasons. In the same period, 46 Nigerians were deported from Ireland. In September 2012, the nation of Israel threatened to start mass deportation of Nigerians. The conditions of these Nigerians are not assessed with a view to assisting them, and same year, Saudi Arabia deported more than 170 women who entered without a male escort. About 1,000 Nigerian women intending to make the Muslim pilgrimage to Mecca were to be deported, but for the firm and urgent intervention of  Vice President Sambo, which averted that embarrassment. Often, these nations just wake up and breach their agreement with Nigeria and nothing is done. Our government is yet to come out with clear and realistic policies on how to handle Nigerian detainees in many countries, and how to handle deportees upon their arrival in Nigeria.
Nigeria recently was reported to have signed an MoU with Austria which includes that any Black person whose identity in Austria is in doubt would be deported to  Nigeria.The effect is that Nigeria will soon be the destination of all Black deportees from Austria, while about 1,000 Nigerian asylum seekers in  Austria  may be deported following the signing that MoU! In the same Austria, letters or documents emanating from the Nigerian High Commission there are sent back to Abuja for authentication, at a cost as high as N130,000 excluding the travel cost for the authentication! All in the name of investigating their victim.
The Nigerian Embassy in Germany are more ingenious, they charge Euro 500 per harassed and distressed deportee for paper work!
The Austrian MoU, assured that Nigerian government through the National Agency for the Prohibition of traffic in Persons and other related matters, NAPTIP, has pledged to look after the deportees, but can NAPTIP honestly take care of 1,000 Nigerians, knowing that millions here find it difficult to have three square meals in a day?
The UN Refugee Agency Report stated that some 10,500 Nigerians sought asylum in industrialised countries in 2011. Most, if not all these will not be granted asylum, but they will not return because there is nothing for them to fall back on at home, and there is no government effort to provide for them upon their return. They are detained instead in prisons, with no clear plan to resettle them; hence they would rather die than be deported.
Nigeria spends billions to print new notes, distribute mobile phones to farmers, when our sons and daughters are shamed in countries where they have lived for as long as 15 years with wives and children, and deported often so suddenly that these families are thrown into hardship and trauma and no one blinks. Rough handling of deportees overseas and here, remain part of the shame of our nation.
Nigeria has a prison exchange treaty with Thailand, but that treaty is implemented according to the whims and caprices of the combined efforts of Nigeria Prisons and Ministry of Foreign Affairs. Today we have deportees held in Kirikiri Prison that were deported from Thailand. The first batch had no difficulties in being released to their families, but this batch that arrived Nigeria since last year are languishing in Prison in Kirikiri and other locations. This same batch has been detained in Thailand, for over two years after they were due for deportation due to the death of President Yar Ardua. They have arrived and still detained till now!
The Nigerian authorities either ignored or jettisoned part of the signed document that stipulated the length of time a deportee from Thailand should stay, giving ground for these deportees to resort to litigation to gain their freedom in their own country. They are now exposed to different physical and psychological problems, in prison, including paralysis, some with emotional distress bordering on insanity. The Thai Police has been reported to be very prejudiced in the use of their power, and this ought to guide the attitude of our government in the   implementation of the treaties.
Government must evolve ways to achieve quick release of these deportees, while not granting instant pardon to undeserving detainees upon returning home, but ensuring that those who have really changed or were unfairly detained are released. The real pain and trauma lies in  the subjection of these families to forced separation from their bread winners, in such countries, and that should be given adequate consideration by our officials. How would our officials feel if they were suddenly plucked out of their own families without their children?
The deportees conditions are complicated by the shame, degrading conditions of our prisons, and the lack of government arrangement towards restoring human dignity to them upon their arrival here. Our prisons are nothing to write home about and will remain so, until the correct leadership is installed.
Deportation is a thing that is in every country, as nations have their right to deport unwanted individuals, but the absence of means of sifting the cases of prejudicial deportation form the rest, compounded by the lack of any known policy on how deportees must be handled, upon arrival here, shows how this nation can abandon you at any time!

*Mr.  Udegbe, a lawyer, wrote from Lagos.

Saturday, 31 August 2013

Ladies living the fake Life, Demand for padded bras, artificialbums rises

Demand for padded bras, artificialbums risespictured
Demand for padded bras, artificialbums rises
Clare has a shape that could sweep many men off their feet. She also dresses well. With her beautiful faceand attention-grabbing figure, it's obvious she can get any man she wants. But in spite of all these good things going for her, Clare, almost 40years old, is not in any serious relationship. Though she parties with her girlfriends and hangs out with men who are always eager to be with her, she lives in agony.


years ago, when she was still in the university, she had carried a 'load' that she can't drop without turning herself into a laughing stock among her friends. She had always admiredladies with big boobs but she was not so endowed. One day, she went into a lingerie shop and got herself a well-padded bra. She was so happy with her new shape that years after,she got herself a bum enhancer and was transformed into a 'well-endowed lady.' However, she is in a dilemma now. Men who want to have serious relationship with her are always disappointed when they discover her boobs and bum are not real afterall. To make matter worse, she can't cope without her shape enhancers. They have become part of her life. Push-up bras have long found their way into women's fashion while bum enhancers are getting popular more and more everyday. But the danger is that both are moving beyond the wardrobes into the hearts of women.


 Investigation by Saturday PUNCHshows that many women in Lagos have become addicted to using push-up bras and bum enhancers. Meanwhile, the downside of the trend, as explained by many of the women, is that they lack confidence when they don't have the body gears to rely on.

 Basically, the push-up bra -as the name suggests - is padded in such a way that it thrusts the breasts forward and make them appear rounder and fuller. Similarly, bum enhancers are padded gears worn like panties or 'bum shorts'. They give a woman noticeable curves in the hip and bum areas. And like the push-up bra, a bum enhancer will most times ensure the wearer gets the attention of men, even if she is not that naturally endowed. For instance, a female banker, who identified herself as Kemi, said she isthe "number one fan of push-up bras", saying she never steps out of her home without having them on. However, Kemi feared that she had gotten addicted to the use of the fashion gear.



She said, "The truth is that I don't like how I (my breasts) look without the push-up bras. I'm addicted to them to the extent that I don't feel okay wearing the normal ones again. Even when I'm wearing a camisole under a jacket, I don't feel alright without a push-up bra. "It makes me feel more confident and when I feel confident, I tend to work better. I actually tried a few times to stop and go back to using normal bras, but it's been difficult because I don't like the way I look in them. It's like I always get positive attention when I wear push-up bras."

Popularly called bum-bumoryodi at Lagos open markets,in Western Nigeria, bum enhancer is relatively new in the market whencompared to the push-up bra.

As. Titi Babatunde, who sells women's underwear at Oshodi Market, Lagos, said she sold at least 24 bum enhancers a week.


Babatunde explained that the N1,200price tag on the Chinese-made bum enhancers on display at her stall, was as a result of a drastic reductionin its price a few years ago. It used togo for N3,000. Investigation, however, shows that the more expensive European or North-American designed bum enhancers cost N4,000 and above in stores across Lagos.



 She said, "Even when it was N3,000 women used to rush it. There is no day I don't sellyodiand push-up bra. I sell up to two dozens ofyodiand 10 dozens of push-up bras in a week. Both students and workers, young and old patronise us."



A buyer, who identified herself as Janet, said that she loved wearing bum enhancers because they helpedin making her more attractive. Like Kemi, Janet's confidence level seems to be tied to her use of bum enhancers. She said, "The bum enhancers give me what I lack naturally. Honestly, Iused to feel bad that my friends were getting more attention from guys. But now, I have a boyfriend too. But it's not something women like to announce to everyone. Most women like to keep it as a secret." Asked if her boyfriend is pleased with her real shape, she said, "I wear jeans (jean trousers) most times and he hasn't seen me in anything else. I don't know yet if he will notice later or not, but when we get to that bridge, we will cross it."



At Oke-Arin Market on the Lagos Island,In Lagos Nigeria Mr. Laide Adedeji, who also sells women underwear, including push-up bras and bum enhancers, said his female customers included women of 60 years and above. He blamed the society, particularly men, for putting pressure on womento have specific figures. He said, "That is why you find women of 18 years and above coming to buy all these push-up brasand bum enhancers to live up to the expectations of the society. Some women have small breasts, but they feel bad because you hear men joking that there will be nothing to play with. "The same thing applies to bums too; those that don't have hips or bums that men like don't feel good about it. I get customers as old as 60 years asking for push-up bras and bum enhancers. They say the enhancers push their tummies inside and makeIro and buba(native attire) fit them better." But it is not only fashion gears that are trendy among women aiming at head-turning figures; the popularity of buttocks injection and other cosmetic procedures to modify breasts and bums is also fast increasing in Lagos. An Associate Professor of Plastic Surgery, Lagos State University Teaching Hospital, Ikeja, Dr. Idowu Fadeyibi, confirms that the hospital sees many patients who require cosmetic procedures to modify their body parts. He explained that Nigeria's conservative culture was largely responsible for patients wanting to keep such procedures secret. He said breast surgery is becoming more common among Nigerian women who come more to reduce the size and modify the shape of their breasts. "We do reconstructive and aesthetic surgeries and people come for both, although the ratio is about ten to one, because more people come for reconstructive surgery. Sometimes, we remove from one part of the body and add to another to make the other part more prominent or the addition could be synthetic (artificial)," he said. For instance, Fadeyibi said a procedure could involve removing fat from the tummy and adding this to the breasts and buttocks as enhancement. Alternatively, he said the use of implants and expanders are also employed, depending on thecase. Investigation shows that a significant number of men are suckers for firm breasts and round bums, but whether they like the use of fashion gears by women to enhance body features is another issue entirely. A cross section of men, who spoke to PUNCH on the issue, questioned the social and moral justification of women wearing body gears that create an illusion of a supposed finer figure. They said they were tired of seeing women who appeared well endowed and beautiful only for them to be disappointed at the end of the day after finding out that the breasts and the bums weren't as big as they had thought. Mr. Femi Mohammed, a geo-scientist, described the use of fashion gears like bum enhancer and the push-up bra by women as 'unfair'. "It is cheating because it is plain deception. Men don't use fake body parts to attract women, so women have no reason to resort to deception to look beautiful. It may be true that men like women that have good shapes, but what's the use if the beautiful women are just artificial?" he asked. Mohammed added that he could never marry a woman addicted to such fashion gears. Also, Mr. Muyiwa Babafemi recalled trying to get the attention of a beautiful busty lady for three months before he finally succeeded. Babafemi, however, said he felt disappointed when he saw a 'completely different person' during his first intimate moment with the woman. He said, "She went to the bathroom and when she came out, she did not have the features I thought she had. Initially, I thought she had big boobs,but when she came out, everything had become flat. I was really disappointed. "I had to advise her to stop the deception; even if she would enhance her looks, it doesn't have tobe so much that it will be so obvious.Any man would be disappointed, especially, if he was attracted to the lady in the first place because of her breasts." But Babatunde, who claimed to be defending the rights of women to"continue to look good," said there was nothing wrong with women's over-reliance on bum enhancers and push-up bras. She said that since women give birth, it then gives them a tenable excuse to improve their appearance, artificially or not.




 Babatunde, who also wears bum enhancers and push-up bras said,"Once a woman gives birth, her body can never be the same. So women need secret things like that to continue to look good, even when they are out of shape. It's called 'packaging'."



Also, Mrs. Mosunmola Awolola of Damscare Ventures, Ikeja, Lagos, who sells female underwear, advised women to be cautious in their use of fashion gears that createwrong impressions.




lola said she always warned hercustomers of the danger of getting addicted to these shape enhancers. She said, "Although, they have advantages since they don't have side effects like drugs, there are disadvantages too. The major disadvantage is that many women get addicted to using them. "But still, I warn my customers that such things are not for everyday useor one will soon lack confidence in her real self." lola recalled a recent incident where a customer 'tried' a push-up bra for the first time in her store andimmediately fell in love with it.she said, "The first thing the lady said was that she would never wear a normal bra again. This was a lady we spent so much time convincing to, at least, try the push-up bra because we didn't have what she wanted. The lady eventually dumped her bra and wore the push-up bra she bought home. She also promised to come back for more." A man may not easily know when a woman is wearing a push-up bra or a bum enhancer but Awolola said getting to know this is not as difficultas it seems. She said the fashion gears make the breasts, bum and hips to appear 'too perfect'. "Those of us selling them know when someone is using them. The trick is that when the shape of a lady's bum or breasts appears too good to be true,it has probably been enhanced," she said. speaking on the risk involved in aesthetic surgical procedures, Fadeyibi described such surgeries assafe, if done properly. In addition, Fadeyibi described the recent quest for aesthetic surgery to enhance body parts such as breasts and buttocks as justifiable. It was learnt that an average buttocks enhancement job costs at least N3m. Implants for buttocks cost about N600,000, excluding hospital charges and drugs. A fitness instructor, Mr. Kola Lijoka, however, has different ideas on howto achieve self confidence and body enhancement. According to him, the application and use of surgical procedures and injections to get bigger bums is "totally unnecessary." He said, "At the gym, your instructorwill tell you what to do to enhance your body shape through exercising.This is healthy and can be achieved in three months, depending on what needs to be achieved." He added that 'simple squatting' can do a lot of good to the hips and bum, and that other specific exercises are available to help the chest area of both men and women. A Consultant Psychiatrist with the Federal Neuro-Psychiatric Hospital, Oshodi, Dr. Mashudat Bello-Mojeed, said the problem confronting ladies that find it hard to do without body gears could be described as "low self esteem". she said, "It has to do with the self fulfillment aspect of a human being. For example, for somebody with a deformity or sagging breasts, it can be like a mark of shame. So, such things like push-up bras offer a palliative solution. Of course, this is a false relief because the problem persists and once the thing is not there, the person will not have that self esteem she normally has when using it." Bello-Mojeed, however, advised those addicted to these body enhancers to "identify the problem and seek the help of a psychologist." she said, "Some exercises will also help, although, they may not give the same result as the artificial things, but they will help the person's confidence. But if the problem is severe, the person can also go for surgery; it is allowed."

Friday, 23 August 2013

NIGERIA,WHEN WILL THE SUN SHINE ON US,WHEN ARE WE GOING TO REACH OUR "PROMISE LAND" WHEN WILL THE WIND OF CHANGE BLOW



With everyday gone by as a Citizen of Nigeria, I just keep realizing that not much as changed since I was a child except for the fact that things have gone from grace to grass, rather than get on the fast lane of progress. Growing up,we were told beautiful stories about a country called Nigeria, a Land so blessed by God with all  the needed Mineral and natural resources,with large crude oil deposit to the south,Pyramids of groundnut and large heads of cattle to the North, Cocoa to the West and large deposit of coal to the East,Rubber and oil palm to the South among other numerous natural resources in addition to the fertile lands in all part of the country capable of supporting any form of crop,be it cash crop or food crop.
 As a child growing up I was told about the rich cultures and beautiful festivals and carnivals, i was told about beautiful spots such as the Obudu cattle ranch,the freedom park to mention but few. but how has these tourist destination affected us? not much if i must confess, reason that the set of people we have had as leaders have short sight and little will power for change, they are only good on paper not in the practical aspect of turning around a venture into a world Class brand.

Growing up as a child I was made to understand that the British pounds and the Naira were not too distant in value, but now as wide as you can imagine, why? because people have failed their Country, they only have all the Harvard, Cambridge,Oxford,Yale and all kinds of degrees from the Worlds Prestigious Universities, but they have failed to create African solutions to solve Africa's Problems, rather they are too carried away with Theories and thesis  that they fail to see the reality of the day, leaving me wondering when will the sun shine upon the lands of Nigeria, When will poverty be reduced to its barest minimum, when will corruption of high profile in Shameless instance be a "dried up", when will our Academic and tertiary institutions be ranked well in the world? when will the incessant strikes in our public sector stop? when will our corrupt politicians stop fooling us? for half a century of independence no meaningful development in terms of standard of living? feeding and shelter is now a very big task, with very few enjoying the "benefits" and the larger population made to live on a meaningless one dollar in a day or better still below a dollar! NIGERIA WE HAIL THEE!

The Major news that gets the headlines in my Country is not that of Great Invention or Discovery, but rather that of Election and "Ghana must go" politicians with their fake promises and lies, they have so much go shameless with their continued washing of "their dirty linens in public" settling issues with stones and stick, carrying constitution mas to fight themselves tooth and nail in public glare!

And not only that some have stoop so low as to ra>>ping minors When Honourable men becomes not-honourable-LGA Boss Ra»pe Wife Sister ;and until the sun shines again upon our lands in eradicating poverty and drying up corrupting, I choose to keep my fingers crossed and Hope for a better Nigeria, One we all will be proud of, one in which we can have reasons to celebrate our citizenship, because as of now the only benefits we get from our government at birth is just the birth certificates that in reality does not come with any social or health care benefits to mention but few.NIGERIA WE HAIL THEE........SLEEPING GIANT OF AFRICA I HOPE YOU WAKE UP SOON FROM YOUR SLUMBER BEFORE IT WILL BE TOO LATE!